Skip to Content


2014 UC Solar Research Symposium

Friday, October 17th, 2014, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
California Public Utilities Commission Auditorium
505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA  94102

8:00 - 8:45 Attendee Check In/Poster Session
8:45 - 9:00 Introductory Remarks
Michael Peevey, President, California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)
9:00 - 9:30 Gallium Nitride-Based Solar Cells to Augment Efficiency
Umesh Mishra, UC Solar Co-Director and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UC Santa Barbara
9:30 - 10:00 California’s Solar Energy Market: What Lies Ahead and How Can We Keep Growing
Bernadette Del Chiaro, Executive Director, California Solar Energy Industries Association (CALSEIA)
10:00 - 10:10 "UC President Napolitano's Carbon Neutrality Initiative"
Matthew St. Clair, Sustainability Manager, UC Office of the President
10:10 - 10:30 Morning Break and Poster Session
10:30 - 11:00 The Opto-Electronic Physics Which Broke the Efficiency Record in Solar Cells
Eli Yablonovich, Director of the NSF Center for Energy Efficient Electronics Science and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, UC Berkeley
11:00 - 11:30 Envisioning a Renewable Electricity Future for the United States
Samuel Baldwin, Chief Science Officer, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, United States Department of Energy (DOE)
11:30 - 12:00 Non-Tracking Collector/Concentrators for Industrial Process Heat
Roland Winston, UC Solar Director and Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Natural Sciences, UC Merced
12:00 – 1:15 Lunch and Poster Session
1:15 – 1:45 Enabling an Integrated Grid
Robert Sherick, Manager, Advanced Technology, Southern California Edison
1:45 – 2:15

The U.S.-Denmark Renewable Energy Program
Michael Isaacson, UC Solar Co-Director and Director of the Center for Sustainable Energy and Power Systems, UC Santa Cruz
Optimal Control of Renewable Energy Microgrids Using Cost-Effective Disaggregation Methods
Ali Adabi, PhD Student, UC Santa Cruz

2:15 – 2:45 Afternoon Break and Poster Session
2:45 – 3:15 Research & Development: Advancing Solar Energy in California
Laurie ten Hope, Deputy Director, Energy Research and Development Division, California Energy Commission (CEC)
3:15 - 3:45 Photovoltaic and Solar Fuels Research in the UCI Center for Solar Energy
Matthew Law, UC Solar Co-Director and Director of the Center for Solar Energy, UC Irvine
3:45 - 4:00 Closing Remarks – Roland Winston, UC Merced