Skip to Content

2014 Solar Symposium

Thanks to everyone who attended the 2014 UC Solar Research Symposium, and to all the presenters, faculty, students and special guests who made this event a resounding success. Also, special thanks to our hosts at the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC). The venue was great and the CPUC staff were outstanding.

If you'd like to receive advance notice regarding next year's symposium, please sign up for the UC Solar Mailing List.


University of California Advanced Solar Technologies
The University of California Advanced Solar Technologies
Institute (UC Solar) Presents

The 2014 UC Solar Research Symposium

Friday, October 17th, 2014, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
California Public Utilities Commission Auditorium
505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA  94102

This symposium is designed to promote public knowledge regarding present and future UC Solar research initiatives, and to examine the current state of the solar energy industry in California and beyond.

Individuals, corporations, researchers and public officials interested in gaining an advanced knowledge of solar technologies and trends.

Featured Presenters

Michael Peevey, President, California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)

Sam Baldwin, Chief Science Officer, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, United States Department of Energy (DOE)

Laurie ten Hope, Deputy Director, Energy Research and Development Division, California Energy Commission (CEC)

Robert Sherick, Manager, Advanced Technology, Southern California Edison

Bernadette Del Chiaro, Executive Director, California Solar Energy Industries Association (CALSEIA)

Roland Winston, UC Solar Director and Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Natural Sciences, UC Merced

Eli Yablonovitch, Director of the NSF Center for Energy Efficient Electronics Science and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, UC Berkeley

Umesh Mishra, UC Solar Co-Director and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UC Santa Barbara

Michael Isaacson, UC Solar Co-Director and Director of the Center for Sustainable Energy and Power Systems, UC Santa Cruz

Patrick Mantey, Director of CITRIS and Professor of Computer Engineering, UC Santa Cruz

Matthew Law, UC Solar Co-Director and Director of the Center for Solar Energy, UC Irvine

If you need assistance, please contact UC Solar Administrative Analyst Robyn Lukens at or 209-228-2988.